Tags

, , ,

ybertaud9:

Homemade Liquid Dish Soap Recipe… what a resourceful idea! Save those left-over soap bars! I know what I’m doing next time I run out. :-)

Another Soap Recipe…

Homemade Liquid Dish Soap Recipe

Ingredients:

  • -1 ½ cup of hot water
  • -½ cup castile soap (I usually use Dr. Bronner’s baby mild liquid soap, but feel free to use any scent just be sure to adjust/omit essential oils accordingly. You may want to use a variety that is already scented for a more frugal option.)
  • -1 tablespoon of white vinegar
  • -1 tablespoon of Arm&Hammer’s Super Washing Soda (used to thicken the soap)
  • -1/8 teaspoon of tea tree oil (optional)

Update: To really thicken the soap to be more like store-bought dish soap, add only 1 tablespoon of shredded bar soap (i.e. castile bar soap, ivory, any simple bar soap will do) to the recipe above. See my video tutorial and revised recipe for Homemade Liquid Dish Soap by clicking here.

Directions:
1. Combine all ingredients into a large bowl and then pour in 1 1/2 cup of very hot water. Be sure to whisk/stir this mixture until all ingredients are thoroughly blended (and the bar soap is melted).
2. Allow mixture to cool completely on the counter. Stirring occasionally.
3. Store in any dish soap dispensing bottle and use as you would the commercial brands.

Note: You may choose to naturally increase the anti-bacterial qualities of the soap by adding 1/4 tsp. of lavender or eucalyptus essential oils.
The switch to making your own household cleaning products may seem overwhelming at first, but once you establish a routine it will become second nature. From the following items, 100% of my basic cleaning needs are met:
Borax
Baking Soda
Super Washing Soda
White Vinegar
Castile Soap
Essential oils are not necessary but they can be fun to experiment with (I order mine from here. They’re generally less expensive)
You can find most of the items above in the laundry aisle of your local grocery store, a well appointed health food store, or online through Mountain Rose Herbs.
It doesn’t get more frugal than that!

Source: http://frugallysustainable.com/

Originally posted on SustainableUtopia:

We’ve always been the kind of family that never thought twice about running out to the store to pick up whatever we needed. Part of our sustainability challenge is to rely more on what we have.

This morning, my husband mentioned that we were nearly out of dish soap, and asked me to pick some up when I was out. I started to add it to my mental shopping list, and then stopped. I looked around the kitchen, and realized that we had everything there to make our own dish soap.

Good. I’d been looking for a new project, and this was perfect. I ushered Hubby and the kids off to Grandma and Grandpa’s and prepared to get my craft on.

Coffee Vanilla Soap Bars

Making your own dish soap is super easy. So easy it’s almost embarrassing to go to the store and purchase it. All you need is a bar of…

View original 202 more words

